Due to COVID-19, we are providing FREE consultations via PHONE or VIDEO conferencing for your safety and convenience. Please don't hesitate to call us if you have any questions! 1-800-537-4154. Learn More »

New Jersey Town Reduces Speed Limits, Citing Public Safety

Following a spike in the number of pedestrian strikes and personal injuries, North Haledon in Passaic County recently reduced speed limits on numerous roads in mid-February. The new ordinance dictates speed limit reductions on Belmont Avenue, High Mountain Road, North Haledon Avenue, and Squaw Brook Road.

Despite adequate notice being provided to local motorists, speeding violations have increased significantly since the ordinance was put into effect nearly six months ago. In fact, the amount of speeding tickets issued on those roads has increased from 13 to 148 during the year. Drivers who are issued speeding tickets typically pay between $85 and $420 in fines, depending on the particular incident and its severity. Contrary to assumption, these fees are usually allocated amongst the municipality, county government, and state government.

Officials reiterate that safety is the cornerstone of this new ordinance, citing over 200 car accidents in a 1.2 mile radius. Last year, an elderly man was hit on the road’s busiest stretch, and was seriously injured. Despite hospitalization, he has never recovered fully and still suffers from these personal injuries.

Personal Injury

Car accident injuries prompted a New Jersey town to decrease speed limits.

Hopefully, these revised ordinances will help to reduce car accident related personal injuries for New Jersey’s residents. As a reminder, New Jersey follows a no-fault insurance system for car accident injury lawsuits. In this system, the victim’s insurance company must cover medical expenses. While this allows for timely reimbursement for out-of-pocket medical bills and other expenses, there are some limitations as well. For example, only in the most serious injuries can the victim sue for pain and suffering in addition to other pecuniary damages.

In the state of New Jersey, most residents purchase either a standard or basic insurance policy. There are several distinctions between these two policies. A standard insurance policy is typically more comprehensive, and allows for coverage of multiple options with the ability to purchase additional protections if necessary. On the other hand, a basic policy is more limited in its scope of coverages, and is therefore typically better suited for an individual with less assets and dependents. For example, under a typical New Jersey basic insurance policy, bodily injuries are not included, but usually can be added as an option with up to $10,000 in coverage for all persons.

If you or a loved one is injured in a car accident, our team of experienced car accident and personal injury attorneys at Aretsky Law Group P.C. recommend the following protocol to secure your assets and legal rights:

  1. Immediately call your insurer to report factual information about the car accident.
  2. Report the accident to local police and request a copy of the official report that the officer has filed.
  3. Seek the help of a medical professional, even if you are not experiencing immediate pain following the accident.
  4. Exchange information with the other driver in order to maintain honest communication.
  5. Transcribe any information from the accident, either through writing or if possible, using a voice recorder device or smartphone.
  6. Contact a reputable car accident attorney at Aretsky Law Group P.C.

At Aretsky Law Group, P.C, our team of experienced car accident and personal injury attorneys have the experience to help you or a loved one navigate the complexities of New Jersey car accident insurance policies and lawsuits. Our team has experience working with a variety of car accident types, including hit and run auto crashes, drunk and distracted driving lawsuits, rear-end collisions, T-bone collisions, and head-on collisions. As a reminder, there is a two year statute of limitations on car accident law in the State of New Jersey, so it is advised to pursue your lawsuit as soon as you and your family are ready.

 

Contact Information